Cayman Islands

The Cayman Islands is a self-governing British Overseas Territory in the Caribbean Seas that consists of three islands. These islands are the Grand Cayman, the Little Cayman, and the Cayman Brac. The islands are located northwest of Jamaica. It is part of the geographic Western Caribbean Zone and the Greater Antilles. The economy of Cayman Islands has twin pillars: the tourism sector and the financial services sector. These pillars make up 50-60% of Cayman Islands’ Gross Domestic Product.
Prior to the adoption of the Cayman Islands dollars in 1972, Cayman Islands used the Jamaican dollar as its currency. The Cayman Islands Currency Board issued the first Cayman Islands dollar notes and redeemed all Jamaican dollar notes in circulation. The Financial Services Supervision Department and the Cayman Islands Currency Board merged to form the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority on January 1, 1997. The Cayman Islands Monetary Authority assumed all authority and responsibilities of the two departments.
Because the Cayman Islands is part of the United Kingdom, it still maintains strong ties with the British. De La Rue Company prints all Cayman Islands dollar banknotes. All of the Cayman Islands dollar notes feature portraits of Queen Elizabeth II and landmarks of Cayman Islands.
There are two commemorative one Cayman Islands dollar banknotes. The 2003 dollar note commemorates the 500th anniversary of the discovery of Cayman Islands by Christopher Columbus. The 2018 dollar banknote commemorates the 60th anniversary of the first written constitution of the Cayman Islands. 

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to your cart