The Republika Hrvatska is the official name of the Republic of Croatia.

 Croatia is a country in the northwestern part of the Balkan Peninsula. It is composed of the regions of Croatia-Slavonia, Istria, and Dalmatia.

 Croatia has one of the strongest economies in Southeast Europe.

 It is part of the World Trade Organization and the European Union. The service sector accounts for 60% of the country’s GDP. Croatia is among the top tourist destinations in the world.

 Regions near the Adriatic Sea are popular during the summer, while its mountainous regions are popular skiing destinations for winter.
Historically, Croatia rose into prominence during King Tomislav’s reign. It entered a personal union with Hungary and eventually became the State of Slovenes, Croats, and Serbs. In 1918, Croatia merged with the Kingdom of Yugoslavia.

 After its separation of Yugoslavia in 1990, Croatia became an independent country. However, it was internationally recognized two years later in 1992.
Though Croatia joined the European Union in 2013, it has not yet fully adopted the euro.

 Instead, Croatia uses the kuna. One kuna is equivalent to 100 lipa. The word kuna means marten and lipa means linden trees. This references the use of marten pelts as units of value in medieval trading, and the tradition of planting linden trees around marketplaces during the Habsburg Monarchy. The Narodna Banka Hrvatske (National Bank of Croatia) issued the first series of modern kuna notes in 1994.

 The first series o