The Kingdom of Denmark (Kongeriget Danmark) is the southernmost Scandinavian country in Northern Europe. It consists of the Jutland peninsula and 443 named islands between the North Sea and the Baltic Sea.

 Constitutionally, Denmark is a unitary state that is made up of the Denmark proper, the Faroe Islands, and Greenland. The country is located at the north of Germany, south of Norway, and southwest of Sweden.

 Denmark has a high standard of living with well-developed social services. It has one of the highest per capita gross national product in the world.

 Their economy is mostly based on the service industries, small enterprises, trade, and manufacturing. A small part of their population works in agriculture and fishing.

Though Denmark is part of the European Union, it does not use the euro. Instead, it still uses the krone as its currency. One krone is equal to 100 ore. Krone is Danish for crown and ore is Danish for gold.

The Dansmarks Nationalbank (Danish National Bank) is the sole issuer of notes in Denmark. The bank was initially established under the Royal Charter of 1818 as a limited liability company.

 The Dansmarks Nationalbank Act of 1936 restructured the bank from being a limited liability company to an independent institution and updated its responsibilities to include issuing banknotes.

Notes issued in 1937 were designed by Danish painter Gerhard Heilmann. These notes had intricate designs on both sides, with the Danish coat of arms gracing the backs of the notes. When Germany occupied Denmark during World War II, the Germans forced the National Bank to exchange German currency for Danish notes. In 1943, the bank started preparing notes dated 1944. 

These notes ran concurrent with the notes that the Allierde Overkommando (Allied Supreme Command) issued in liberated parts of Denmark. Germans surrendered to the Allies in 1945, and the Danish Parliament passed an emergency law that started a currency reform.