East Caribbean States

The Organization of East Caribbean States (OECS) is an eleven-member organization that is dedicated to the economic harmonization and integration, good governance, and the protection of human and legal rights between the countries and territories in Eastern Caribbean. The organization was established after the Eastern Caribbean States signed the Treaty of Basseterre on 18 June 1981. The full members of the organization are Antigua and Barbuda, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia and St. Vincent, and the Grenadines. Meanwhile, the British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Martinique, and Guadeloupe are associate members.

The official currency used in the East Caribbean States is the East Caribbean dollar. The only members of the OECS that do not use the East Caribbean dollar are Martinique and the British Virgin Islands. Martinique is an overseas region of France and uses the euro while the British Virgin Islands uses the US dollar.

The East Caribbean Central Bank issues and circulates East Caribbean dollar notes. The East Caribbean dollar replaced the British West Indies dollar in 1965. Because many East Caribbean states were part of the British Caribbean territories, their banknotes feature Queen Elizabeth II. Also, De La Rue prints the East Caribbean dollar notes. 

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to your cart