French Pacific Territories

French Overseas Territories are territories that are politically part of France but are not part of Europe. These territories have four categories: the overseas regions, the overseas collectivities, special status region, and overseas uninhabited territory.  The five overseas regions are areas that have the same status as regions in France. These regions have representatives in the French Parliament and are allowed to elect a member of the European Parliament. The five overseas regions are Guadeloupe and Martinique in the Caribbean, French Guiana in South America, and Mayotte and Reunion in the Indian Ocean.  The five overseas collectivities are semi-autonomous administrative divisions of France. They have representatives in the National Assembly, the Senate, the Economic Council, and the Social Council. However, these collectivities are not part of the European Union. The five overseas collectivities are Saint-Barthelemy and Saint-Martin in the Caribbean, Saint Pierre and Miquelon in North America, and Wallis and Futana and French Polynesia in the Pacific.  New Caledonia in the Pacific has a special status because of the Noumea Accord of 1998. According to the Noumea Accord, France promises to grant Kanaks increased political power and independence over a twenty-year transition period. Meanwhile, France controls the military and foreign policy, immigration, police, and currency of New Caledonia. The twenty-year period has already passed, but New Caledonia is still a special region because the people have voted to remain a part of France. France continues to have control over New Caledonia until the region votes to become an independent state.  The overseas collectivities and New Caledonia uses the CFP franc, also known as the French Pacific Islands franc. The Institut d’Emission d’Outre-Mer (Overseas Issuing Institute of IEOM) manages, issues, and maintains the CFP franc. The institute was founded and chartered in 1966. It issues notes that are printed by Banque du France.  The family of notes issued by the institute in 1985 featured the different landscapes, cultural artefacts, and prominent peoples in the overseas territories. In 2014, a new family of notes were introduced. These notes upgraded their security features to deter counterfeiting and used intaglio printing to help the sight-impaired to distinguish the denominations. These notes featured different flora and vegetation, fauna, sea fauna, and architecture.