The Gabonese Republic (Republique Gabonaise) is a country found on the equator. It is located on the west of the Republic of Congo, the south of Cameroon, the southwest of Equatorial Guinea, and the east of the Gulf of Guinea. Its capital, Libreville, is also the largest city. Gabon is the fifth largest oil producer in Africa. Its oil sector accounts for 80% of exports, 45% of GDP, and 60% of fiscal revenue. Its economy is also dependent on its strong links with France, with large foreign investments, dependence on skilled foreign labor, and the decline of agriculture.

As a former colony of France, Gabon uses the Central African franc as its official currency. Before Gabon adopted the Central African franc in 1974, Gabon used the Gabonese franc. The Banque des Etats de l’Afrique Centrale (Bank of Central African States) issues, circulates, and regulates the CFA franc. Early CFA franc notes have the same back design. However, the front design differ from state-to-state. CFA francs in Gabon include portraits of Gabonese citizens and Omar Bongo (the second president of Gabon), and architectural and cultural landmarks. After 1992, the Bank of Central African States centralized its designs. Only the name of the country differs to avoid confusion.   

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to your cart