The Bailiwick of Jersey is a sovereign British Crown Dependency located near the coast of northwest France. Bailiwick covers the main island of Jersey and also includes the uninhabited islands and rocks of Les Dirouilles, Les Minquiers, Les Pierres de Lecq, and Les Ecrehous. As a self-governing constitutional monarchy, it has its own legal, judicial, and financial system while its defense is under the United Kingdom.  

The dependency has an extensive financial services industry which accounted for roughly 50% of the island’s production. Along with financial services, the economy is driven by agriculture and tourism. Jersey also exports crops such as potatoes, tomatoes, cauliflower, and flowers, especially to the UK. Additionally, the Jersey breed of dairy cattle is popular in the world and is a significant contributor to the state’s export revenue. Meanwhile, the tourism industry accounts for one-fourth of its GDP. The light industry has also emerged which put back traditional industries behind. As the dependency imposes light taxes and death duties, Jersey is known to be a tax haven.

The island is in a monetary union with the United Kingdom and uses the Jersey pound as its currency. The new set of Jersey banknotes was introduced in 2010 and contains English, French, and Jerriais languages. This is the first set of notes to ever bear the state’s native Norman French language. They feature a portrait of Queen Elizabeth II wearing the Vladimir Tiara. The notes also depict a monument, a building, or a landmark on the obverse. The paper bills are printed by De La Rue and are equipped with a hologram, windowed security threads, and the map of Jersey as a registration device. They also bear a watermark that reflects a Jersey cow, an electrotype denomination, and Cornerstones. They are in denominations of 10, 20, and 50 pounds. 

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to your cart