Netherlands New Guinea

Netherlands New Guinea, which was also commonly known as Dutch New Guinea, was the Papua region and what is now the two easternmost provinces of Indonesia - Papua and West Papua. From 1949 until 1962, the region became an overseas territory of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.
In an attempt to capture the land from the Indonesian Republic, the Dutch set up police actions at the time of the Indonesian Revolution. However, the colonist’s ruthless methods had caused international powers to disapprove and shift support towards the Indonesian Republic. However, the Dutch managed to dispute successfully that the native population of the region was a separate ethnic community and should not be merged into the state of Indonesia.
Before the Second World War, Netherlands New Guinea’s economic activity was at a minimum. Trading was only limited to the Maluku Islands and only to those populations living in the coastal areas and in some islands. In 1938, a development business was established, however, its operation was not so active. Therefore, Netherlands New Guinea was not significant and a disregarded colony within the Netherlands Indies.
Until 1963, the Netherlands Indies gulden was the official currency of the Netherlands New Guinea. The gulden was at the same rate as the Dutch gulden and was in circulation until 1963 when Netherlands New Guinea became a region of Indonesia as West Irian.
There were two series of the Netherlands New Guinea gulden. Both the first and second series featured Queen Juliana. The first series was introduced in 1950 in denominations of 1, 2 1/2, 5, 10, 25, 100, 500 gulden. The second family of notes was released in 1954, also in 1, 2, 1/2, 5, 10, 25, 100, 500 gulden denominations. Along with the queen’s portrait, these paper bills also depict a bird of paradise. 

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to your cart