Senegal (Republic of Senegal) is a country in West Africa on the Atlantic Ocean coastline. It is bordered by Mauritania to the north, Mali to the east, Guinea to the southeast, and Guinea-Bissau to the southwest. Senegal surrounds much of Gambia and shares a maritime border with Cape Verde. Its capital is Dakar. 

Senegal is the westernmost country in the mainland of Afro-Eurasia. Its name comes from the Senegal River that borders the country to the east and north. It was once part of French West Africa. 

Senegal has a unitary presidential republic government. Since its independence from France in 1960, the country is considered as one of the most stable countries in the African continent. 

Its economy is classified as a heavily indebted poor country with a low HDI ranking. Most of the population works in agriculture or other food industries. Other major industries include mining, tourism, and services. Though the country does not have many natural resources, its education sector is one of the strongest in the region.

Senegal is a member state of the African Union, the United Nations, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie, the Organization of Islamic Cooperation, and the Community of Sahel-Saharan States. As part of ECOWAS, Senegal uses the West African CFA franc (XOF) as its currency.

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to your cart