South Sudan

The Republic of South Sudan is the most recent sovereign state to have widespread recognition. It gained its independence from Sudan after a referendum in January 2011. It is surrounded by Ethiopia to the east, Sudan to the north, the Central African Republic to the west, the Democratic Republic of Congo to the southwest, Uganda to the south, and Kenya to the southeast. Its capital is Juba.  

Due to the South Sudanese Civil War, economic development is stagnant and unstable. It is one of the least developed countries according to the United Nations. Its economy is heavily dependent on oil, with 98% of the government’s annual budget and 80% of its GDP coming from its oil industry.  

South Sudan uses the South Sudanese pound as its official currency. One South Sudanese pound is equivalent to 100 piasters. Introduced on July 2011, it replaced the Sudanese pound at par. The Bank of South Sudan is the central bank. The first series of South Sudanese pound notes had six denominations: 1, 5, 10, 25, 50, and 200. In 2016, the 25 South Sudanese pound banknote was replaced by the 20 South Sudanese banknote. In 2018, the 500 South Sudanese banknote was introduced due to inflation. In 2020, the 1,000 South Sudanese banknote was introduced. The South Sudanese pound notes feature the portrait of John Garang de Mabior, the late leader of the Sudan People’s Liberation Army, in front and different native species and natural landmarks at the back.  

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to your cart