Tibet is the region in the central part of East Asia that includes the Tibetan plateau in the Himalayas and Mount Everest. Because it is the highest region on Earth, it is called the “roof of the world”.  Tibet is bordered by the Chinese provinces of Qinghai to the northeast, Sichuan to the east, and Yunnan to the southeast; Myanmar, India, Bhutan, and Nepal to the south; the Kashmir region to the west; and the Uygur Autonomous Region of Xinjiang to the northwest. Its capital is Lhasa. 

Its name is derived from the Mongolian Thubet, the Chinese Tufan, the Tai Thibet, and the Arabic Tubbat. Tibet is the homeland of the Tibetan people. Prior to the 1950s, Tibet was isolated from the rest of the world, developing its own unique cultural and religious community. The People’s Republic of China began incorporating Tibet as an autonomous region in 1950. However, this claim is controversial both within Tibet and worldwide.  

The Government of Tibet issued its own banknotes from 1912 to 1959. Tibet used the tam from 1912 to 1931. Afterward, Tibet used the srang.  

Currently, Tibet uses the renminbi (Chinese yuan) as its currency.