The Republic of Tunisia is situated in the Maghreb region in the northernmost part of Africa. It sits close to Algeria, Libya, and the Mediterranean Sea with territory reaching from the eastern part of the Atlas Mountains to the northern part of the Sahara desert.

Tunisia’s economy is diversified with agriculture, mining, manufacturing, and tourism as its main sectors. With privatization, a simplified taxation structure, a cautious approach to debt, and progressive policies for the public, the standard of living in Tunisia have been uplifted. However, export has weakened due to the growing non-textile production, a recovery in the agricultural sector, and the progress in the services sector.

Tunisia’s official currency is the Tunisian dinar which is divided into 100 millimes. The monetary unit was introduced by the Central Bank of Tunisia in 1958 as a unit of account, replacing the franc at a rate of 1 dinar to 1,000 francs. The 1958 set of banknotes feature a portrait of the first president Habib Bourguiba. These paper bills were originally ordered from Bradbury, Wilkinson, & Company but then the order was split between BWC and De La Rue. Eventually, De La Rue became the exclusive supplier of Tunisian banknotes.

On November 7, 1987, President Habib Bourguiba was impeached and Prime Minister Zine El Abidine Ben Ali was declared president. To commemorate the anniversary of Bourguiba’s ouster, the Central Bank of Tunisia issued banknotes between 1992 and 1997 dated November 7, 1987. These banknotes feature significant Tunisian personalities such as Carthaginian general Hannibal, Islamic philosopher Adb-Alrahman Ibn Khaidoun, Kheireddine Ettounsi, and poet Aboul El Kacem Chebbi.

Following the overthrow of President Zine El Abidine Ben Ali on January 14, 2011, the bank released a new 20 and 50 dinar banknotes bearing new designs and vibrant colors. In 2013, new 5 and 10 dinar paper bills were issued.

Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to your cart